Summer Child

Basel Abu Alrub
In June
Published in
1 min readApr 23, 2020

A Poem

Photo by João Silas on Unsplash

When you looked at me
It felt like that first day of June
Oh that June…
When you kissed me,
under that bright blue moon.

Oh I don’t know why,
I don’t know why
your tears came pouring
in that month of July.

After a while,
Oh it seemed like a long, long while
But in August’s hues
the skies begged you to play nice
cause the truth,
August, this year,
won’t come twice.

And after a while,
oh it seemed like a long, long while
August flew
and you knew,
the truth…
August, this year
won’t come twice.

By the time September came
you left me insane,
for the love of you
when I look at you
oh when I look at you.

But in August’s blues
when the skies begged you to play nice,
but the truth….
you were never, really
A summer child.

The Autumn leaves
they leave you stranded
that summer song
It left you abandoned
You were never, ever
A summer ballad

October arrives.
those leaves have cried,
and dried
While you, still move
Like that child that kept
running wild.

--

--