A Boomer’s Life Photos

Close-Up and Selfie Images through the years

Rhonda Carrier
In Living Color

--

(Photo Credit Rhonda Carrier)

The above photo is my earliest photo. My mother is holding me. Who is taking the photo? I don’t know. Possibly my father, although I don’t remember my parents ever having a camera and I never saw either of them take a photo.

In the photo below, my hat, gloves, and “good” dress tell me it was taken on an Easter Sunday. I must have been 4 years old. I look like a fairly normal kid in the photo, right?

I didn’t know anything was “wrong” or “odd” about me until I started school that year. Then, I discovered that being as tall as I was for my age was weird. Older students in the school would point to me and I would hear them say, “Look at her. She is in Kindergarten but looks like she should be in 2nd or 3rd grade.”

Old photo of me (Photo Credit: My Uncle Norman)

My biggest growth spurt was in the 5th grade. We moved to another town at the opposite end of the State just before the new school year started. When I started the 5th grade I was 5' tall (12.7 cm). Six months later when we returned to our original town for a short visit, I had grown so much that few people recognized me when I walked down the street. I was now 5'5" tall (13.97 cm).

--

--

Rhonda Carrier
In Living Color

I’m a retired international educator. I love nature, gardening, photography, traveling, and spending time with my family.