A Morning on A Greek Island

A reflection and a self-portrait

Purbita Chakraborty
In Living Color

--

The sun rising in the horizon and it’s first rays on the yellow building and the sea.
The morning in Rethymno. All pictures by the author.

When I woke up this morning, it was quite early, way earlier compared to my latest sleep habits. The soft light was filtering through the curtains. The sun had just started to rise.

I have not watched a sunrise in a very long while. Because of several health issues and sleep disorders, of late, I have become a ‘sunset’ person.

But today was different. I had to catch a flight in a few hours to get home from Rethymno.

I have been staying in Rethymno, a small town on the island of Crete in Greece, for over a week and have been walking to my heart’s delight, exploring the city with all my senses while trying to absorb the sights, smells, and sounds of this incredible place.

Countless times I have walked those small alleys and the beach promenade, and the vibrant vibe of this student city is invigorating.

But today, at this hour, it was a completely different city. The city was just waking up.

I quickly got ready and went out with my phone hoping the sun would take an eternity to rise and I would still get a chance to capture those moments.

As a bonus, I also got a selfie moment, which I wasn’t expecting.

--

--

Purbita Chakraborty
In Living Color

"Where the mind is without fear" - Technical Writer, Wellbeing, Design & Travel Writer, Advocate for Diversity & Inclusion - http://aframe4life.com/