FOOD PHOTOGRAPHY

All I Want for Chinese New Year Is a Jar of Cookies

I mean a jar of each type of cookies

TzeLin Sam
In Living Color
Published in
6 min readFeb 11, 2024

--

Dragon cookies for the Year of the Dragon — Photo by author

It is only the second day of Chinese New Year, and I have already eaten more cookies than I should have. As someone with a sweet tooth, I prefer cookies and pastries over savoury festive dishes.

That said, there are some savoury snacks that I really enjoy too. I guess I just eat like a kid sometimes, especially during the holidays. As far as I can remember, we always have cookies in our house for the lunar new year.

For context, all of these festive goodies (cookies, pastries and snacks) are collectively referred to as bing in Chinese which translates to cookies, although some are not technically cookies.

The dragon cookies in the featured image are one of my all-time favourites. Luckily, they are available every year, not just during the Year of the Dragon.

Otherwise, it would be a really long wait, as each animal represents only once every twelve years. That means after this year, the dragon won’t be back for another twelve years. It is hard enough waiting a whole year for these cookies, let alone twelve.

--

--