Photo Stories

Avant-garde. Cool Mistakes. Experimental. Quirky. Spooky. Surprising. Wonderfully Weird.

A May photo story challenge here on In Living Color: “Strange Brew”

JoAnn Ryan
In Living Color
Published in
8 min readMay 1, 2024

--

Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Robert at Indian Rocks Beach in Florida — All photos by JoAnn Ryan

I love the weird and the strange, just like a lot of people do, I suppose. It makes me feel more at home in the world, as I myself tend to be a bit weird and strange.

Last week, a few days before leaving the city of Tampa to head to the quaint town of Gainesville, I rented a car for a couple of days in order to explore the area a little more. Just one of the places I headed was, of course, the beach. I drove the length of the shoreline between St. Pete Beach and north to Tarpon Springs, where there is a sizable Greek influence by the way. Driving along shorelines and checking out not only the beaches but cute beach towns is one of my favorite things.

Just one of the beaches I stopped to check out was Indian Rocks Beach. I loved the vibe there. It was much more rustic and far less crowded than St. Pete or Clearwater. It was there I briefly met this cool guy named Robert, with his bandana, flask of coffee (or perhaps something else), speaker pumping 70s and 80s hits, American flag, and aviator goggles.

--

--

JoAnn Ryan
In Living Color

A complete mess but always striving to do better. Owner of Globetrotters, In Living Color and The Midnight Garden.