Chinese New Year Red Packets Are Works of Art

A photo essay of my collection

TzeLin Sam
In Living Color

--

Photo by author

One of my favourite things to do at the beginning of each year is to check when Chinese New Year is, as the date changes annually based on the lunar calendar. This year, it is on February 10th, which means it is just around the corner. The celebrations last for fifteen days, concluding with a festival called Chap Goh Mei.

A well known symbol of Chinese New Year is the red packet, known as hong bao (or ang pau in Malaysia). It is filled with money, and given by married individuals to children and unmarried adults. In some countries, red packets are only given to children. But in Malaysia, as long as you are not married, you will receive one. For example, my uncle, despite being in his 50s, still gets an ang pau from my mother.

Of course, enduring sarcastic remarks from the elders is common during Chinese New Year if you’re not married. Without fail, each year when they hand you an ang pau, they’d say, “I hope that next year, I don’t have to give you an ang pau anymore. So you better get married soon.”

But then again, it’s free money, so who cares? You just have to develop a thicker skin.

Besides that, I also love the designs on ang pau packets. Some of them are really special. Every year, as Chinese New Year…

--

--