Food and Cooking

Cooking on an Old Plow Disc

My favorite way to prepare camp food.

Ryan Chin
In Living Color
Published in
5 min readFeb 15, 2024

--

Fresh veggies and Ahi tuna ready to be seared and drizzled with a ginger-scallion sauce. Author Photo

“Yo, Bro’! I have a birthday gift for you,” said my fishing buddy, John.

I’d met John during a fishing trip when I’d forgotten coffee. I walked up to his camp with a handful of fishing flies to trade for some grounds, noticed a large metal disc for cooking next to the fire pit, and commented how much I loved it. A few hours on the river made us mates; months later, he made me a cooking disc for my birthday.

I was in the middle of a divorce, and my old dog had died, so the gift meant a lot at the time. That’s one of many things fishing, surfing, and my passions have done for me: deliver friends.

The Disc is made from an old plow disc. John filled in the axle hole and welded two anchor chain rings for handles. The result is a 20” diameter carbon steel cooking machine. I’ve heard it called a Cowboy Wok, but I like calling it The Disc.

I’ve cooked nearly a hundred meals on it since he gave it to me seven years ago. While I have a wok burner to use The Disc at home and during open fire bans, it shines while camping and cooking over a fire.

It’s safe to say no spice can rival the flavor of food cooked on a campfire in

--

--

Ryan Chin
In Living Color

Author of The Big Head Diaries, stories of a lab from NZ, and Without Rain, a multimedia memoir. Email:thechinproject@gmail.com