Creative Self-Portraits

Using Props and Themes

Lauri Novak
In Living Color

--

There was a time when I participated in a weekly self-portrait theme group. Every week there was a theme to use to create your self-portrait.

Many in that group were so inspirational. True self-portrait artists. The set-ups, the backgrounds, and the time they spent creating these images were truly amazing. And, so were their results.

This was for the Scanography theme. Yep, place you in some way on your scanner. What fun. I chose to keep the photography theme in sight as well.

This one was for natural light. If you follow me anywhere online you’ll know that I am obsessed with the light, shadows and shapes made by the blinds in my office.

I’ve written about this before as I took one whole photography scavenger hunt and created images using my office blinds:

--

--

Lauri Novak
In Living Color

Award-winning fine art photographer, mentor, and author. An eye for architecture. Galleries/Tours/Mentoring: https://laurinovak.com