Dark clouds during a golden and gloomy sunset

A short poem

Alie hiraethsweven
In Living Color
2 min readSep 30, 2023

--

A dark cloudy and golden sunset, photo by Alie Hiraethsweven

It was during an early sunset when I went to the rooftop to calm my mind. The sun was softer than it was in the morning a bit calmer and a bit more gloomy, slowly getting closer to the world to go back home. Then they came…

Some say they are home to thunders and storms

Some say they originate from the dark and doom

Some say they are evil, crammed with lightning and growls

Those declaring these convictions

Perhaps are the ones who suffered from it’s devastation and demolition

They are not to be blamed for it

As a loss is far greater than a triumph

It seizes away those memories of love and bliss that one has created

It’s cruel, isn’t it?

But what about those who love thunders and darkness?

Cause they are the ones who see magnificence in darkness

Photo by Alie Hiraethsweven

Can you blame them for it?

What you hate might be home to the other

You never know what love is like until you fall into it hopelessly, wholly, intensely with the other

For me, it was mesmerizing and hypnotizing

Can darkness be that captivating?

Who knew what the golden hour would look like with gloaming clouds

The gloomy golden sun being embraced by those gloaming clouds

No one imagined what exquisite artwork they would catch a glimpse of that day

It was surreal

Photo by Alie Hiraethsweven

It was ethereal

It felt like two different worlds colliding

Light and darkness

Evil and good

The most perfect sunset I’ve ever witnessed with my bare eyes

It felt like home to me cause

I am darkness with rays of light

Trapped in a single-body

But they weren’t trapped

That’s why they looked surreal and captivating

And I?

I’m lost

However, they found a home

Light and darkness.

But what about me? Would I ever find a home?

Photo by Alie Hiraethsweven.

Read more from my stories here.

--

--

Alie hiraethsweven
In Living Color

A lacunacorpse. Maybe I wasn't supposed to be born at the first place.