REMINISCING

Finding Photos of First Road Trip Was a Surprise

I found gold thumbing through a hard drive

Bruce Coulter
In Living Color
Published in
4 min readApr 25, 2024

--

Photo of a crowded street in New York City during the Christmas holiday.
I took this photo on my way to Rockefeller Center. I knew New York was a big city. I did not expect the mass of humanity everywhere. Photo by author

Our first road trip was by chartered bus to New York City on a cold, blustery Saturday morning. Briana was combing through Facebook, looking for something different, and she found it: transportation to and from the Big Apple for $50 per person. It was, of course, a day trip.

Once the bus hit traffic in Manhattan, I was glad I wasn’t driving. Whoever the driver was, I take my hat off to you. And we were hardly alone, debarking from the bus around 10 a.m. Dozens of buses were dropping off passengers.

The bus dropped us not too far from the New York City Public Library on 42nd Street. So, Briana and I trudged through a light coating of snow on the sidewalk to gawk at the library. It’s an impressive building, but it was rather crowded. Libraries are popular, but I think more tourists were taking in the sites. After snapping a photo or two, we were off to Macy’s.

Who doesn’t go to Macy’s during the holidays? Hello, Miracle on 34th Street. Of course, the store was crowded — damned tourists. I never got to say hello to Maureen O’Hara and Edmund Gwenn.

--

--

Bruce Coulter
In Living Color

I'm a retired, disabled veteran with MH issues. Tomorrow will be a better day. Join me and others on Medium. https://medium.com/@brucecoulter_75270/membership