MY TRAVEL DIARY

How I Learnt to Explore Global Cultures Through Food

Experiences from around the world.

Christina Daniels
In Living Color
Published in
7 min readFeb 13, 2024

--

Istanbul. Turkey. Photo By Author.

I am not a “food” person. There are those who live to eat. But I’ve always been one of those who eats only to live. If I could get on with the business of living on just love and fresh air, I would do it. So, those who know me well believe a good meal is wasted on me. They would also be equally astounded to see me writing an article on food. But my experiences as a traveler have shown me you can also experience a country through its food. That’s why food fascinates me.

I remember the first time I felt this way. We were in a small village in Orissa, in India. Fish is a part of the staple diet here because it is by Lake Chillika, the second largest brackish water lagoon in the world. When we accepted our hosts’ offer of lunch, they brought out a simple preparation of fish and rice made in the traditional village style. The fish was tangier than in the preparations in the southern part of India, where I had spent most of my life. It was eaten with rice but also served with potato curry, tomato chutney, and spinach, as shown in the picture below. On the extreme left, you will see a piece of papad, which is a crispy condiment usually served along with Indian rice preparations. Similarly, tomatoes, onions, and cucumbers…

--

--

Christina Daniels
In Living Color

Passionate content creator. Traveller. Author of "Being, Becoming, Being", "I'll Do It My Way: The Incredible Journey of Aamir Khan", "Ginger Soda Lemon Pop".