JAPANESE FOOD

How to Make Miso at Home

Can it be that simple?

Akemi Sagawa
In Living Color
Published in
4 min readFeb 5, 2024

--

Photo by Author Akemi Sagawa

Miso is an ingredient I grew up with.

But I never saw my mother making miso at home. When one of my tea ceremony friends told me she makes miso at home from scratch once a year, I said, “Oh, please let me join you when you make it next time!” The day has finally come!

Photo by Author Akemi Sagawa

There are only three ingredients needed to make miso: Soybeans, rice koji, and salt. Koji is fermented rice; you can buy one even in the US. My friend was kind enough to purchase all three for me so all I needed to bring was my pressure cooker and containers.

Photo by Author Akemi Sagawa

My friend had soaked soybeans in water overnight. One kilogram of soybean was swollen up with water! Even after draining excess water, it weighed over 2 kg.

I put the soybean into the pressure cooker, added water, and cooked for 20–30 minutes until the beans became so soft that I could squeeze it easily with my fingers.

--

--

Akemi Sagawa
In Living Color

Formerly a tech entrepreneur, now a voluntary cultural ambassador of Japan. Founder of Five Senses Foundation (fivesensesfoundation.org). akemisagawa.com