I Found It: The Rainbow Connection In Hawaii

Rainbows make me feel welcome when I see them, at home or on a trip

Carol Labuzzetta, MS
In Living Color
Published in
3 min readApr 30, 2024

--

Rainbow on Maui seen while on Maui in Hawaii. © Carol Labuzzetta, 2022.

“Someday we’ll find it, the rainbow connection, the lovers, the dreamers, and me!” — The Muppets, The Rainbow Connection as sung by Kermit the Frog.

I don’t know when my fascination with rainbows started. My best guess is that it happened when I was a child. All children love rainbows, and I especially loved it when Kermit the Frog sang about them in the Muppet Movie (1979).

I was past my Sesame Street Days by 1979 (I was in high school), but I think my girlfriends and I watched Kermit sing his swampy song about colorful rainbows, starry nights, and voices.

“Is it magic?” he asks. It is if you want it to be.

Now, a much older and wiser woman, I still love the magical feeling that rainbows can provide despite knowing water droplets in the atmosphere combined with the sun's rays, cause rainbows.

Rainbows While Traveling

When I see rainbows whilst traveling, and I’ve seen many, it makes me feel like the earth is welcoming to this new, amazing place.

In 2015, we saw rainbows over the West Maui Mountains on our second trip to this Hawaiian Island over the Christmas…

--

--

Carol Labuzzetta, MS
In Living Color

I write about the environment, education, nature, and travel. Having two master's degrees, in nursing and environmental education, I am a teacher at heart.