LIFE

I Got Caught Between the Quiet and the Storm

While contemplating the stream of life along the river’s edge

Rui Alves
In Living Color
Published in
6 min readApr 22, 2024

--

The frontier between the river’s avalanche of white foam over the levee and the calm green landscape before it.
Photo by the author

My village sits in between two rivers. I’m a riverman. The water has always resonated with my heartstrings. They call on me. I’ve written many of my poems on the muddy banks near my grandparents’ home, where I grew up.

Yesterday, I went back to some of my best childhood memories. I drove once again to the remnants of my memory. I wanted to gaze at the lavishing beauty of the river. I missed the water, and I wanted to bring some of it back home with me.

The river child returns

There’s a place near my grandparent’s place where the waters have telluric healing powers.

On my way there, I drove past the old house, and couldn’t avoid the wave of nostalgia engulfing my heart. I spent seventeen years within those now derelict walls.

Trying not to look back, I kept going down the slope and left my car in the empty parking lot. There’s a steep stairway that spirals down to the riverbanks. I can hear this thunderous roar from afar. But the luscious green landscape is what first caught my eye.

I remember it all too well. I have the best memories of that balcony over the river…

--

--

Rui Alves
In Living Color

Language teacher, linguist, life coach, published author (joined the Army and worked for the EU). A publisher, digital ronin, musician and alchemist of sound.