Manhattan: The City that Never Sleeps

When staycations are as important as vacations

Sandy Maximus
In Living Color

--

Manhattan Bridge against the backdrop of Lower Manhattan (Photo credit: Author)

One tradition that I started after the pandemic is to do a staycation in New York City for two nights every year and be tourists in our city. The idea is to do something new each year and explore the city and take in the vibe.

We tried the RiseNY Experience, a three-part experience giving information on the history of the city. In that one hour, I learned so many facts that I didn’t previously know about New York City. I left the experience feeling elated and proud of its iconic status around the world.

  • Did you know the word Manhattan was from the Lenape word Manahatta when it was occupied by Native Americans?
  • I didn’t know Times Square was named after the Times Building that was built on Broadway and 42nd Street in Midtown. I knew that this was the building from which the ball dropped for New Year’s, but I didn’t know it was the New York Times building.
  • I learned how Nikola Tesla’s invention of the electric coil paved the way for radio broadcasting, making New York City the hub for all radio and television news.

The pictures I’ve shared in this post were taken on a Circle Line Harbor Lights Cruise that started from Pier 83 on 42nd and West Side at 7 pm and took us down the…

--

--

Sandy Maximus
In Living Color

An academic, a mother, and a wanna-be writer in (pre) cancer treatment with interests from travel to tennis, personal stories, and life lessons.