My 2023 in pictures

A year-long travel photo story

Serhii Onkov
In Living Color
6 min readJan 2, 2024

--

1. A view of snow-covered Chornohora range from Verkhovyna, Ivano-Frankivsk region. All photos credit: Serhii Onkov

Photography remains one of my main hobbies, and I still may take photos (which is not available for all and not everywhere in Ukraine now). That’s why I usually make a selection of my images yearly (that are important to me or I like them).

It could have been a great year if not for the Russians who still try to subdue or kill us all. I visited the Carpathian mountains four times, including climbing the highest mountain. I saw the castles of Volyn and Lviv region and flooded quarries in Korostyshiv. It all was for the first time. But I also have many places I revisited and would revisit again and again (I’m getting old, maybe?) — Zalishchyky and Chervone tract and regional centers of northern and western Ukraine. And, of course, my Vinnytsia with such close and gorgeous outskirts.

In the current situation, the future is dark. But at least I have these memories. Let me fly through them one more time.

Below, there are 50 photos in chronological order. With one exception, all of them were outside my flat. Otherwise, most would be photos of my cat; that’s why I’ll tell you about the cat sometime later.

Let this remain in memory as the bright side of 2023 (the dark and ugly one is here).

2. Christmas carolers in Kryvorivnia, Ivano-Frankivsk region

I visited the mountains in winter for the first time in my life. The trip’s main goal was to see the Christmas rituals of the Hutsuls who live in mountain villages.

3. A church in Kryvorivnia from the inside
4. A church in Iltsi. Ivano-Frankivsk region

Despite the weather being snowless and warm, the mountains were still adorable.

5. Misty hills near polonyna Ihrets. Ivano-Frankivsk region
6. A pond and a church in Bukovets village. Ivano-Frankivsk region

February is typically the least traveled month for me, but I caught a sunny Sunday to make a one-day trip.

7. A view from Castle Hill. Zhytomyr

Without showing my cat, I can’t ignore cats at all, of course.

8. District gang. Vinnytsia

Finally, I waited for April, which is comfortable enough for longer trips.

9. High water in Lesia Ukrainka Park. Lutsk
10. An alley of pysanka. Lutsk
11. A lavra in Univ village, Lviv region
12. A castle in Pidhirtsi village, Lviv region
13. A castle in Olesko village, Lviv region

Spring around the hometown was no less beautiful.

14. A European tree frog. Yakushyntsi, Vinnytsia region
15. A common redstart in wires. Vinnytsia
16. A cat’s yawn. Kryvyi Rih, Dnipropetrovsk region

We met him accidentally while searching…

17. A lake in Zhovtnevyi quarry. Kryvyi Rih, Dnipropetrovsk region

Then, it was time for the second Carpathian trip.

18. Mist on top of Rebra mountain. Ivano-Frankivsk region
19. Nesamovyte lake. Ivano-Frankivsk region
20. Chornyi Cheremosh River in Dzembronia village. Ivano-Frankivsk region

This is the most highland village in Ukraine, and its mornings are fantastic.

21–22. Mists and sunrays over Dzembronia
23–24. Vukhatyi Kamin mountain. Ivano-Frankivsk region
25. A road over clouds. Pip Ivan Chornohirskyi mountain, Ivano-Frankivsk region

That was the culmination of that trip. Before walking above the clouds, we were caught in a storm where I thought I’d die.

26. A dragonfly above a lake. Vinnytsia
27. A flooded granite quarry. Korostyshiv, Zhytomyr region
28. A prey. Mohylivka, Vinnytsia region
29. Blue Lake — one more flooded quarry. Mohylivka, Vinnytsia region
30. A kingfisher. Demydivka, Vinnytsia region
31. A European peacock on a sunflower. Luka-Meleshkivska, Vinnytsia region
32. Swiss trams in Vinnytsia

The third trip to the mountains was dedicated to climbing on Hoverla — the highest top in Ukraine. But mostly, I remembered the sunrise I caught from a hotel window.

33–34. Sunrise over Khomiak mountain. Ivano-Frankivsk region

Many roads to the hills start in the nearest cozy regional center.

35. City Lake. Ivano-Frankivsk

The end of September and October are my favorite time to see sunrises close to my home.

36. A September sunrise. Vinnytsia
37. Spiderman was here. Vinnytsia
38. In awe of the sun. Vinnytsia

We also visited our capital city after a few years’ break.

39. Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra panorama. Kyiv

And more early October walks, then.

40–41. A frosty morning. Vinnytsia
42–43. Clouds caught in trees. Vinnytsia
44. A way to light. Vinnytsia

Finally, I saw golden autumn in the mountains. It was my last visit to the Carpathians in 2023, and I’m afraid it could be the last at all.

45. Skole Lake. Skole, Lviv region
46. Purple clouds. Korostiv, Lviv region
47. All shades of golden leaves. Korostiv, Lviv region

After grey November, the first days of December pleased us with snow (but typically, it melted before Christmas and New Year).

48. A snowy evening. Vinnytsia
49. A barcode. Vinnytsia
50. A white tree. Zhmerynka, Vinnytsia region

--

--