An Orange, Oaks, and Other Orange Objects

A-Z Letter Challenge: the Letter O

Rhonda Carrier
In Living Color

--

Nepali Wall Hanging (photo by author)

The letter O makes me happy. I need bright colors in life and orange is one of my favorites. A walk in the garden is the best place to find the color orange.

Gulf Fritillary Butterfly (photo by author)

The photo above is of a Gulf Fritillary butterfly that just emerged from its chrysalis. The butterfly will soon be laying eggs in the garden.

Gulf Fritillary caterpillar (photo by author)

We are always delighted to find growing Gulf Fritillary caterpillars in the garden. The cycle of life continues as it eats and grows and then crawls to a quiet spot to become a chrysalis and then a butterfly.

Monarch butterfly (photo by author)

Monarch butterflies are another type of butterfly that we often see in the garden. The monarch caterpillars have eaten all of the milkweed leaves, so we aren’t seeing as many monarch butterfly mamas flying around looking for a milkweed leaf…

--

--

Rhonda Carrier
In Living Color

I’m a retired international educator. I love nature, gardening, photography, traveling, and spending time with my family.