Selfie Photography for Private Cats

An alternative selfie collection

Kenny Minker
In Living Color

--

All photos by the author

Private cats like me don’t take too many selfies. Or, we do, but we don’t share them.

I don’t often put images of my face on public platforms. However, over the years, I’ve accumulated a few interesting “alternative selfie” shots that I hope are worth sharing.

Are you a private cat, too? Perhaps one of these shots will inspire you to keep an eye out for the occasional creative self-portrait opportunity.

The Sunglasses Reflection Selfie

On a hike in Colombia, my friend’s sunglasses were fiercely reflective, creating the opportunity for an interesting face-within-a-face photo.

The eye of the beholder… is in the eye of the beholder!

The Curbside Trash Mirror Selfie

One man’s trash is another man’s selfie studio. I like how the mirror looks white, rather than glassy — it makes the selfie look more like a printed image than a reflection.

--

--

Kenny Minker
In Living Color

Policy & culture writer • MA international policy • Background in environmental analysis & urban planning