Six yards of grace!

Saree love!

Shereena Mayan
In Living Color

--

Photo of the author by my daughter

The drape of the saree creates magic. Strong contrasting colours give a seamless flow. A saree is a women’s garment from India.

The journey of Saree begins with cotton in the Indus Valley civilization. The saree back then was 9 yards 9-yard-long garment, but it has now decreased to six yards.

Indigo love. Photo by my niece

Indigo, with the most desirable hue of all time. No wonder they say, that once you get to know indigo, it’s hard not to fall in love with it.

First saree picture. From archives

My first memory of the saree is of my mother’s saree. At the age of 17, I wore my mother’s saree. It was a cotton-printed saree. I never thought I would try a saree. I was a teenage tomboyish kind of person who liked to wear shorts casual skirts jeans.

In Indian weather, saree came into use to protect our bodies from the hot weather. Sarees are made of silk cotton ikkat printed block prints. Embroidery tie and die. Each region has its handloom tradition. Whatever trends and changes may come handloom sarees stay and shall never…

--

--

Shereena Mayan
In Living Color

Committed to inner peace ,expansion , gratitude and self love. Decor enthusiast .Antiques and vintage collector. Nature lover who is in love with words