NATURE PHOTOGRAPHY

Snapshots of My Walks in Nature

A Question for the Community

B.R. Shenoy
In Living Color
Published in
2 min readApr 22, 2024

--

Owl on a fence
Credit: B.R. Shenoy

As my Medium community well knows, I enjoy capturing moments from my nature walks to share with my readers.

It is not uncommon for me to encounter wildlife during my walks. I have come across everything from squirrels to snakes to, yes, even alligators.

On a recent April afternoon, to my great delight, I encountered an owl sitting on a fence.

I clicked a photo of the owl right away before it could fly off. I marveled that the owl had barely moved in the few minutes since I first spotted it.

However, upon closer inspection, I saw that what I thought was an owl was only a statue of an owl.

Take a look at the cover photo above. Would it have fooled you?

A few months back, I noticed some turtles in a lake near a local community. It caught me off guard to realize they were actually fake.

Here is the photo of the fake turtles.

Turtles in the lake
Credit: B.R. Shenoy

What do you think is the purpose behind these fake animal statues? Do they serve as mere decorations, deterrents for real wildlife, or perhaps something else entirely? I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments.

My photo essays:

62 stories
Thai food
Inspiring words

--

--

B.R. Shenoy
In Living Color

Editor: The Shortform and Dancing Elephants Press•World Traveler•Former Expat on 3 Continents• Boosted and Top Writer • MS Toxicology• Proud Mom of 2.