Photography

The Revolving Views in Front of Our Home in Norway

Can I have a different view?

Oliver Romsen
In Living Color
Published in
6 min readMay 14, 2024

--

All pictures by the author and his wife. When the weather is calm and sunny, the river reflects its surroundings like a mirror.

We used to live in one of those cookie-cutter homes in a nice neighborhood.

I didn’t want to move because I was satisfied. The home had four rooms, which was big enough for our family of four. But my wife and I agreed that the home would be too small if our relatives from other countries inevitably came to visit. So, in 2019, our family took a huge step and bought a home in Rolvsøy Fredrikstad, a town about 90 minutes south of Oslo, Norway.

For a person who has lived in a big city for over thirty years, moving into a home in front of a river was something new. I didn’t know the view changed depending on the season, time of day, and weather.

The year 2019

During the open house, I ignored the view. It was a cloudy and windy day (probably why I didn’t mind). I was more interested in the house because it had space on the first floor, which we could rent out.

When we returned to the house to finalize the sale, it was the beginning of summer, so it was getting warmer, and the sun was in full display. This was the sight that greeted me.

--

--