Tofu Pudding by the Sea

Simplicity is a blessing.

lukthru
In Living Color

--

tofu pudding
photo by lukthru

It has been years since I last visited Tai Mei Tuk in the New Territories. I wouldn’t have come to this place if it wasn’t my duty to bring the students here for their school picnic.

Nothing much has changed, and the food stall along the seaside is still there. My colleagues and I were lucky to enjoy tofu puddings together with the sea view when we passed by. I was grateful for the opportunity to respite before going back to where the kids were.

How to enjoy tofu puddings

Tofu pudding, or soybean pudding, is a traditional street dessert in Asia. Brown sugar is usually added to the tofu pudding as tofu itself can taste bland. It is nothing fancy, but I like the sweetness and pudding-like texture. Plus, it is affordable, costing only 2 USD per serving. Eating a hot one in winter is especially satisfying, and sharing it with others on a beautiful day makes it even better.

The sweetness in the tofu pudding reminds me of the quote, ‘When life gives you lemon, make lemonade’. When you feel bored with life, try to find humour in things by making a funny joke. Similarly, when life gives you tofu, make tofu pudding! Most importantly, enjoy little things in life and you will find joy in simplicity.

seaview in Tai Mei Tuk
photo by lukthru in Tai Mei Tuk

--

--

lukthru
In Living Color

🇭🇰 +852 | ESL teacher | Jack-of-all-trades-master-of-none-happy-go-lucky slacker|