Celebrating Christmas Holiday With Walks — Part 2

Was She Angry Or Worried?

Walking and thinking about my mum, grateful we clarified our differences. Not everyone is so lucky…

Janin Lyndovsky
In Living Color
Published in
7 min readJan 18, 2023

--

Yangan-Killarney Road, Killarney, QLD (Photo by Author)

The start of Christmas Day was wonderful. I woke up around 5 am, and it didn’t take long before I started receiving messages and photos from my sister and family back in Europe. They were celebrating Christmas Eve (it was 8 pm in Poland and Germany). Excited kids were sending me photos of them and their presents. All this warmed my heart.

I was lying on my couch, thinking about where I should go. I wanted to do something new, go to a place I haven’t visited before, but how should I do it when the area here is so familiar to me… I looked at the map and decided to make a loop and, in this way, add a few roads to my stroll that maybe I drove at some point but never walked.

I was about to go out when I heard a “ping” on my phone. It was John with the words, “Merry Christmas, honey! I miss you so much!” and so we started chatting for about half an hour, and then he had to go to work, and I went for my walk.

--

--

Janin Lyndovsky
In Living Color

Life-stories of elders taught me more than any school or university. Now I hope through sharing my stories I can inspire others to chase & live their dreams