Monthly Challenge

Creepy Dolls, Daring Attire, and a Man Who Slept Like a Log

Quirky sightings in Prague, Kolkata, and London

Monica Ray, M.Ed, MS
In Living Color
Published in
5 min readMay 24, 2024

--

Girls without Clothes storefront in Prague on Karlova 38
I was fascinated by this store window in Prague (credit: Monica Ray)

I’m always ready to capture something different when I’m traveling. If you stop and look with intent and patience, chances are that you’ll see something a little mad and off the beaten path.

In this essay, I wanted to highlight some things I captured during my travels. You may or may not agree that they fall under the categories of ‘weird’ or ‘strange’, but I’d love to hear your thoughts at the end, all the same.

Prague, 2022

Prague is over-saturated with tourists. Or so I was told when I announced my first visit a few years ago. Late to the party as usual.

One early morning during our visit, my family and I decided to descend upon the city before breakfast. It was on a weekend morning before 8 am. The roads were empty apart from a few street cleaners, one or two drunk stragglers, and local folk trying to get their errands done before the masses descended upon them.

We walked past the Astronomical Clock and other ornate buildings. It had been really hard to get my teen daughter up that morning, but even she appreciated the quiet alleys and cooler temperature.

--

--

Monica Ray, M.Ed, MS
In Living Color

Top and Boosted Writer. I write food/travel pieces centered around the UK, India, and the US. I also cover writing. Follow me on Instagram @monicaonthemoveray