What’s in an Image?

Warm and fuzzy, or begs a question?

Todd B Harrington
In Living Color

--

The subtitle pretty much defines the primary perceptions I have of art.

Antigua
Antigua (Photo by Author, © Todd B Harrington)

When I view an image my initial reaction tends to answer the subtitle question.

Some images evoke a pleasant reaction from your visual senses. I use the phrase ‘warm and fuzzy’ to describe that reaction. Non-threatening, it makes you feel good, and maybe puts a smile on your face.

Begs a question is the other sensory response that challenges the mind and causes you to look closer.

SF Street Composite
SF Street (Full Moon Series)(Photo by Author, © Todd B Harrington)

Looking at an image and wanting to know more is a reaction shared by many.

Nature and landscape photography can generate a great deal of satisfaction for the photographer. It can also produce endless warm and fuzzy images that are pleasant to the viewer. I know this area well. My photographic library is stocked with many hundreds of these types of images.

At some point around 2008, after a couple of decades of shooting nature and landscape and getting a little bored with it, I found the need to be photographically challenged at a higher level.

--

--

Todd B Harrington
In Living Color

After 40+ years of photography I have stepped outside the box and started writing. Connecting words to images, writing short stories, a short film and book.