Yikes! Yammering about and Yearning for Yachts and Yachting of Yesterday!

Yahoo! A Photo essay for the Letter Y!

Rhonda Carrier
In Living Color

--

My Nepali wall hanging (Photo Credit Rhonda Carrier)

My alphabet wall hanging that I bought in Katmandu many years ago has the word YACHT for the letter Y. That has always made me smile. I don’t think yachts are found in Nepal, are they? It’s a cute little yacht though, so we will focus on yachts and yachting.

I had not seen a yacht of any kind until I went to Malaysia in 1973. Our Peace Corps training was a few miles from the Port Dickson Yacht Club. The Club is not as big and fancy as the name indicates. It was, and still is, a small facility with a restaurant, bar, swimming pool, tennis courts, and storage area for sailing yachts.

The yachts at the Club in the 70’s were small sailing yachts. On weekend afternoons many of the Club’s yachts would head out to sail on the Straits of Malacca. It was fun to watch them sailing past as I sat in our Peace Corps language training sessions.

(Photo Credit Rhonda Carrier)

The Yacht Club was the site of the first date I had with Gerad Carrier. Now, 50 years after that first date, we still return to stay at the Yacht Club and to visit with friends when we…

--

--

Rhonda Carrier
In Living Color

I’m a retired international educator. I love nature, gardening, photography, traveling, and spending time with my family.