Raking in Autumn: A Sonnet

Melinda Kucsera
in medias res by Melinda Kucsera
1 min readOct 19, 2015

--

Leaves blow and crinkle as I sway. I dance
with the rake. Round and round the yard we go.
Each step sends plumes of leaves skywards to dance,
to twirl and fall in piles at my toes.
Laying my partner down, I climb onto
the peeling red picnic table. I spin
round on the autumnal stage. The solo
dancer takes her last leap. The expandin’
pile of leaves cushions my fall. Leaves twirl like,
red ballerinas caught in an updraft,
and gently land on the pile near my bike,
I tossed leaves and watch them fall as I laughed.
Bruised from twigs that infiltrated the pile,
I brush off my pants, cast the leaves a smile.

in response to Imaginary Garden with Real Toad’s prompt: Falling Into Lines — Weekend Mini Challenge

Originally published at melindakucsera.com on October 17, 2015.

--

--

Melinda Kucsera
in medias res by Melinda Kucsera

IT Project Manager & author of fantasy novels. Check out my blog for more of my writing: www.melindakucsera.com