What Is Consciousness Like?

Sam Harris Has Helpful Insights

Dunelair
In My Life
2 min readJun 30, 2022

--

CLOUDSCAPE by Dunelair © Sue Moran Thole

I learned about the Waking Up app shortly after Sam Harris introduced it nearly four years ago. The writer who mentioned it wrote that any of us could afford ten minutes out of our day to meditate. I took his comment as a personal challenge.

Nearly four years later, I have rarely missed starting my day with the app. Sam’s approach works for me.

I routinely spend ten minutes each morning listening to Sam’s instructions. I do not kid myself that I have learned to meditate, but I have learned a few things about the nature of my mind.

Witnessing my body’s systems in action is awe-inspiring.

Our bodies are made up of many systems that our brains oversee. It amazes me how much better I can observe these systems after witnessing them for ten minutes a day over these many months.

The open space of consciousness offers clarity to see what we may not otherwise notice.

Our senses — seeing, hearing, tasting, touching, smelling — offer exquisite details if we pay close attention.

In addition, we can observe our breathing, our heartbeats, and our thinking. Most of these are not under our conscious control. We believe we direct our thoughts, and sometimes we do, but random thoughts come unbidden to take over our minds many times a day.

It is helpful to note how thoughts connect with feelings in various parts of our bodies. Can we witness emotional thoughts and train ourselves not to react, to merely watch? Most emotions will quickly dissipate if we observe them instead of responding to them.

Maybe Sam is correct when he asserts that we have no free will.

Much of Sam’s comments lean toward the philosophical and what I consider splitting hairs. From the beginning, I have occasionally argued with him about some of his ideas. I take what serves me and leave the rest.

The app also presents lectures by leading authorities who teach various approaches to meditation. Although I have listened to several, I prefer to stick with Sam’s ten minutes each morning.

Ten minutes a day is a small investment that pays big dividends.

Every morning I look forward to my routine of hydration, movement, and the Waking Up app. When I start the app, and Sam begins to talk, I automatically slip into a state of attentive relaxation. Also, as he suggests, I pay attention to liminal moments throughout the day to observe the state of my mind and body.

I believe this practice has helped me be more relaxed and resilient and better able to appreciate the richness of my daily life.

Each December, I am happy to renew my subscription to the app.

--

--

Dunelair
In My Life

: Friend, reader, and photographer with eclectic interests. Loves living on California's central coast. Born and raised in West Virginia.