Drawing a Life : Piece by Piece

@Adib Hakim Abu
In Pursuit
Published in
2 min readFeb 5, 2016

For some, life passes by. Ephemeral. Just happens. Just goes.

Others know what they want out of life. They map it out meticulously, and methodically set out to achieve it. Their life was designed, pre-defined on paper, or the hear-see that crystallises into beliefs at an uncomfortably quick pace. Their lives are designed top-down, and a reflection of how much they don’t know, which, for mortal beings like us, span a universe’s length.

How do we live a life, not want something out of it? How do we live a life with full acceptance and respect for the unknowns?

Some thoughts…

  1. Think about the signs around us : Life = time + opportunities in multiples (for the ones reading this), life is temporal in our human environment, you & I were designed, created along with dozens of other creatures and eco-systems. Look around you.
  2. Discovery or Pre-set ? Do I allow for adjustments and one day at a time living? Do I cultivate my inner curiosity, do I marvel more often, do I find more questions than possess more answers? Do I have time to listen to my inner voice?
  3. Am I aware? Am I truthful? Am I doing?

If life is living side by side with the unknowns, it does feel sensible not to go about it assuming to know, in haste, nor careless neglect.

It does make sense to live by embracing and allowing for unknowns (discovery), all this while being and remaining aware of the signs around us.

Tonight, I lived a piece of life. Fully present, I experienced myself reaching to pull the chair out by the dinner table, sat down beside Sofia. We talked, and shared a laugh. That one moment, where we locked eyes, smiled and hugged.

What do I know?

--

--

@Adib Hakim Abu
In Pursuit

Nothing & extremely happy about it. On a journey to experience love, enlightenment & inspiration.