My New Dawn

Everyone who has inspired me has taken that leap of faith, so I shall.

@Adib Hakim Abu
In Pursuit

--

I didn’t like my life, the one that we all dream of having before we get enough practical life experiences to be able to discern between living dreams & living our journey. So I walked out of it. I spoke with my wife shortly after (2 weeks to be exact) she gave birth to our 2nd daughter… We booked an apartment in Istanbul for a month & I walked out of that life with full intent of seeking a new one. The one. Without knowing where or how.

I did a lot in that one month… I learnt to ask myself again & again what was important to me while sitting with nothing but a good book in a coffeehouse, I learnt to ask myself what my life was all about, what being a good partner & father meant, and what I should do with my life. Most of all, I think I allowed myself the freedom of doing something I really feared…. nothing. And it was the best thing I’ve done for myself in a long long while.

The beauty in giving yourself time, & I mean real unconstrained time, is that you start to see, rather than decide, what’s important to you… personally. Most of us charge through our youths & early adulthood too instinctively without understanding our yeses and nos, our deal-breakers as well as our priorities. We need that conversations with ourselves, filled with questions & the space & time to do so comfortably, and often so.

Thanks to the much needed walk out into a new direction of the yet unknown, I have now figured out that I’m going to pick up skills & real time experiences to be an entrepreneur. I’m going to practice being a loyal servant of a partner and father while doing so. There’s a strange freedom that one gets from beginning over @ rock bottom, but as smart people say … “you just have to do something!”

I don’t know how this will all end, but I sense it’s not anywhere as important because when I look back some day, what I feel I would most cherish is the journey. The journey! & I’ve taken my very first step.

--

--

@Adib Hakim Abu
In Pursuit

Nothing & extremely happy about it. On a journey to experience love, enlightenment & inspiration.