Accept it, you’re not good enough

Ayomide Ofulue
In Seed Form
Published in
2 min readMay 21, 2020

How to stop feelings of inadequacy from sabotaging your work.

“Being a freelance writer is like asking the universe to reject you, over and over again. An uphill battle — and yet I lay down at night, imagining what I will write next, having conversations with myself about what must make it to the page.” — Lisa Renne, writing cooperative.

This is torture. For the second day in a row, I do not feel like doing this. Why did I choose to write every darn day?! I do not feel good enough to do this.

The thing is, I know I have the talent to do it, I know if I keep to it, something good will come out from it. So why am I so against it? Why do we self-sabotage so much on the things that could bring us much fulfilment?

I will do anything, even unpleasant, chore-type things, to avoid writing. The very thing that I supposedly enjoy and desire so much.

I have ideas. I have half-baked, sloppy essays awaiting surgery. I’m excited about the potential of some of them. But there is some unseen force, a worm in my brain, that blocks my progress. It works in tandem with the voice that whispers, “You’re not good enough.” Lisa Renne

You’re not good enough. I’m learning to accept that that is fine. You don’t have to be good enough, leave that pressure for your work. You and your work are two different things. We may not be good enough but if we apply ourselves enough to a task, our work can be good enough.

Allow yourself to be mediocre

When feelings of inadequacy keep you from working on your promise; remember these things -

  1. You’re not good enough. Agreed. I’ll Do it anyway
  2. You’re not good enough. Absolutely. So I will Do it consistently to improve.
  3. You’re not good enough. Affirmative. I have made peace with my mediocrity. So I’ll enjoy doing it again.

Inadequate is a feeling.

Self-Sabotage is a choice.

--

--

Ayomide Ofulue
In Seed Form

Personal-Growth Advocate. I write about real problems and applications. Christian. Writer: www.ayomideofulue.com and Teacher: www.ayomideofulue.substack.com