Close to Midnight

Ayomide Ofulue
In Seed Form
Published in
2 min readMay 18, 2020

Finding the motivation to create in the hours when you don’t need to.

By the time of writing, I have exactly 37 minutes to crank out an article and publish before its 12 am and it falls into the next day’s work. For someone who believes consistency is key to achievement, missing two days out of four would be a blow to my ego and maybe growth.

I mean I could stop here and publish. It would still count, won't it? But what would do that do for you? By being right here on this page, you’re choosing my words over perfectly curated Instagram photos and funny twitter videos, or maybe that online course you so dearly love(lol).

I owe you your time. I owe you value. Doing the barest minimum won’t be good enough for you.

19 minutes left and I wonder how many times we’ve missed an opportunity because we did the barest minimum; because we chose to satisfy ourselves over the needs of others.

Here is the value I have for you today and I hope it helps you see your work as more than an expression or paycheck; that your creativity is not just for you.

The architect Christopher Alexander on how to design a room that people love:

“Light on two sides of every room. When they have a choice, people will always gravitate to those rooms which have light on two sides, and leave the rooms which are lit only from one side unused and empty.

One side of the room is you, the other side is someone else. Do whatever you can to shine a light for them.

5 minutes left. I did it. You will too because you know the secret to create in the dark.

--

--

Ayomide Ofulue
In Seed Form

Personal-Growth Advocate. I write about real problems and applications. Christian. Writer: www.ayomideofulue.com and Teacher: www.ayomideofulue.substack.com