http://hplusmagazine.com/wp-content/uploads/empathy.jpg

Empathic machines

M2M2P

Cathy Wang
In the future..
Published in
1 min readJul 8, 2013

--

In the future, machines will learn about our emotions. Machines will understand human emotion and needs, in order to adjusts their functions and features.

We are seeing the rising possibilities in machines measuring emotions via facial expression, verbal responses, social expressions,and device usage pattern.

Human emotion is hard to understand. It’s difficult to understand other people’s emotion, let along our own.

What would happen when machines can intepret our emotions?

Machines will become empathic of our emotion.

My communication devices will turn off during the times when I am sick or resting.

Ex-lover’s phone calls will not come through when I am feeling vulnerable.

The lights in my house will glow a warm welcoming light as I come home from a long day of work.

My gym shoes will nudge and encourage me to go for a run when I am feeling down.

When I am over-the-top happy, the machines around me, are happier, and perform better.

Machines, will become our emotional companion, much like a trustworthy pet. Machines will lay down that comfortable emotional love blanket for huamn, surrounding all different aspects of daily life, in a non-intrusive manner.

--

--

Cathy Wang
In the future..

Dreamer of the future. Nomad. I design theories and frameworks around socio-economic + human value systems.