Mental health days are not a reward, they’re a necessity.

May is Mental Health Awareness month, so let’s talk about it.

Kaylynn Knuth
In The Hudl
3 min readMay 20, 2021

--

To be honest I struggled to begin this article, overwhelmed with all the directions I could take it. Do I talk about my own experiences? Do I talk about what Hudl is doing to support mental health? Do I talk about tips and tricks to help?

The answer is
D: All of the Above.

In 2020, everyone was collectively navigating their own grief journey for “the way things were” and the anxiety of “what’s next.” Because of that collective grief journey, it opened up the conversation around mental health on more personal levels and I’m determined to keep that conversation going.

Personally, I was constantly online, taking in an influx of information around the pandemic, presidential election, and social justice movement. It was too much. I was experiencing panic attacks, higher levels of anxiety, insomnia, and bouts of depression that I hadn’t struggled with in years ultimately leading to some burnout. As the Social Media Manager, it’s my job to be online and up-to-date on what’s happening, but I struggled to set boundaries between work and home. I rarely unplugged during those early pandemic months, and it was seriously affecting my mental health.

After months of struggling with these boundaries and an unclear end in sight for the pandemic and working from home, I took an entire unplugged, week-long road trip around Yellowstone National Park and started setting up mental health days.

Hiking, Wyoming/Idaho

My word of the year in 2020 was “intentional.” Part of me putting that into practice was going all-in with this trip and being intentional with how I used this time to recharge.

I deleted social media, email, Slackall of it, and completely unplugged. Something I never thought I’d do or even could do as the Social Media Manager in the middle of American football season, but the support of my team and Hudl’s unlimited vacation policy made it a reality.

This experience was so incredibly freeing and my mind had never felt more clear. I was re-energized and recharged, ready to absolutely #dominate when I got back.

As a result of the trip and the clarity that came with it, I learned that mental health days are not a reward, they’re a necessity.

Set your boundaries, take time off, and don’t be afraid to talk about it.

After this trip, I started making mental health days a priority and set a goal each month to block time for myself to reset and refocus. Making sure I’m being proactive about taking time before I hit a wall and not after so that I’m always putting my best foot forward.

In addition to unlimited vacation and the ability to take those mental health days, Hudl also currently offers an Employee Assistance Program. All full-time Hudlies and their families have access to this FREE service. It provides the opportunity to meet with a licensed professional counselor who can help with a variety of topics including stress, anxiety, depression, relationship issues, and grief. All topics that were prevalent for many in 2020.

I am forever grateful to work for a company that puts its employees as a top priority and for the support my managers and team show me in taking that time off and encouraging me to pursue that much-needed break. Reminding me, We’re A Family. :hudlheart:

Looking for a career change? hudl.com/jobs

--

--