“Art Fair Philippines 2016 : An Experience”

Kriston Enrico Villas
In the midst of art
7 min readFeb 25, 2016

02 | 20 | 16

Saturday: I went out of my condominium and headed out to The Link at Ayala Center Makati to attend and embark on a majestic visit to the well renowned Art Fair here in the Philippines and based on what I have heard, this art fair only happens and occurs once a year so its a huge deal for me to be apart of this years art fair and to be able to see what are this years great works made by these great artists.

Let me tell you guys a little bit of history or a historical background about the annual Art Fair Philipines before I share some of my experiences on attending on this years event. Art Fair Philippines was founded in 2013 and it focuses on showing and promoting artworks created by Filipino Artist who some, doesn’t get the proper attention, recognized or accredited for their great works.

This years Art Fair contains 40 galleries that were made possible by numerous great and talented Filipino artists and from these 40 galleries there are 9 special exhibitions and that these works are made out of different materials from wood, canvases, recycled materials and etc., they all made something out of nothing and they gave meaning to some of the already existing things and made it their own.

Raffy Napay

Mother and Son

This exhibit is a great art work made possible through the use of strings, neon paint and neon lights. This is a great work created by Mr. Raffy Napay. Based on my opinion, I see this as a clear and visual representation of a loving mother and her child and how they are connected like how everyone of us is connected. This art work is very dear to me because I can relate to it like most of us will and on how I cherish to have a loving and nurturing mother who always supported me and guided me from the day I was born and up to this very day and that is the reason on why this work is one of my favorites here in this years art fair.

Nona Garcia

While I was wandering around the 6th and 7th floors of the building, I came upon these interesting looking images that I later found out were x-rays of certain things. This was made by Ms. Nona Garcia who is known for creating this kind of artworks. I like this piece because it shows you a whole new perspective on things that we are already familiar with our human eyes. This work may be simple but through her visionary, she made this eye catching work of outstanding skill and artistry.

The Art Cube

For me, this is one of the galleries which I consider to be one of my top favorites. Just walking into the dark and unknown room and that the only thing you can hear is the sound of the church bells tolling. When I enter the gallery, there was this ambience that you could feel, the atmosphere here is different compared to the other galleries and maybe thats the reason why I liked and enjoyed it so much. I think this particular gallery shows or depicts how the artist see religion and what its role in our society. I think you can see here how as individuals, we all have these demons that we face every single day and that having faith in God is the only thing that is going to help us conquer these demons for us to have a better life and to have a better understanding to what life is all about and to what are the things worth living in this lifetime.

Other artworks:

As I come to an end in my majestic visit to this years art fair, all I can say is that I enjoyed being able to see all these great works by these great Filipino artists and that to me I see these works more than just some object that are put together, I consider them as the extension of that particular person who made it, who crafted it, who created it. Everyone has a different approach to everything that they do. This was that persons perception on things that was made possible through a set of ideas. This was that persons way of trying to connect and show what he or she was feeling in that particular moment in time because not everyone of us, like myself, is great in communicating with everyone else and I believe that through art, we can communicate better than with the usage of words and our mouths.

Fini

--

--