Notes on Parenthood

Dario D'Aprile
Human and Machine
Published in
2 min readJul 9, 2016

What I’ve learned in two years as a new dad:

It’s weird being both young and old at the same time, there are no grown-ups between us. It is rare that a single point of view is the correct one, mainly we both have some rationale but we get lost in semantic and communication issues. Definitely I’m not the one that has more seniority here, I have two years experience in parenting and my daughter has two years experience in being a toddler.

Ants can see molecules and kids can see the deepest human emotions. People are focused to shape how others view them but not toddlers, they are authentic and don’t try to project any image. Maybe this will change soon but in the meantime I’ve learned to see the world through a more sympathetic lens. Parenthood is transformational and I’m evolving into a more compassionate and selfless human.

“The weak can never forgive. Forgiveness is the attribute of the strong” Mahatma Gandhi. Toddlers are expert in practicing the philosophy of forgiveness, they have an innate ability to forgive. My daughter can desperately cry for something I may have done to upset her and a minute after, she reconciliates: laughing and smiling to restore a bond between us. Mistakes are part of the parenting experience and there is not really time for resentment. We are making amends and trying each day to do better.

What am I missing most? Eight hours of continuous sleep is one of life’s pleasures that we’ll not get back very soon.

--

--