What’s In a (Startup) Name?

Matt Olivo
In the Trenches with C2V
1 min readApr 27, 2021

One thing my C2 Ventures partner and I always enjoy as a side benefit to sifting through our weekly pile of new deal flow is the names of companies.

Many are fairly straightforward, some quite clever, some confusing, and others completely off the rails, but we love them all (especially the last two categories).

Having just closed on the 19th and final investment from our debut fund, I decided to look back at the 625 or so companies we reviewed and share my favorites (along with my attempt to decipher each):

Informal poll for the comments section:

1) What do you have stuck in your head right now?

A) Love Shack

B) I Only Want to Be With You

C) We Built This City

D) All of the above / I hate you

2) What dates me more?

A) My movie references

B) My song references

C) My face

--

--

Matt Olivo
In the Trenches with C2V

General Partner at C2 Ventures (early-stage venture fund), with 20+ years in finance as a banker, hedge fund manager and CFO.