Does Your Personal Brand Have A Color Scheme?

Claire Kennedy
In The Trenches
Published in
3 min readDec 11, 2020

Regardless of the possible over-use of the phrase, the concept of a “personal brand” is near and dear to my heart. I love talking about it, workshopping it, educating others on it, and continually participating myself — always evolving, changing, and fine-tuning what perception I want others to have of me.

This isn’t to say that personal branding is lying — but instead telling your story the way you want to tell it. When I talk about my mental health and my queerness, it’s from a place of power. Showing my vulnerabilities is strength.

Creating a personal brand also enables you to align yourself to different adjectives, values, and people.

But what about a color scheme?

I was inspired to consider a color palette for my own personal brand because of my friend Brianne’s website, social media presence, and twitter chat #PopChat. When I think of Brianne I envision her entire brand:

  • 90s pop stars
  • Tiger Beat
  • Brand + Marketing Strategy
  • Innovative
  • & the multi-chrome gradients and neon lights

While my brand isn’t as bright, shiny, and a pop of color (badum tss) like Brianne’s, I started considering what my own colors could look like and how I could incorporate the use of similar colors into my LinkedIn and Twitter profiles to shape my personal brand better.

Where did I start?

I had a (sort of) spiritual experience with desert tones this year. The calm blues around my apartment no longer felt calming and instead like I was drowning. Rust, orange, and pink felt like a warm, welcoming hug of hues.

I also made the decision to dye my hair pink as an act of self-love. And just like that, pink took on another adjective for me: strength. Also, according to Kushaan Shah’s blog, pink can be attributed to being funky, hip, youthful and bold (I’ll take it).

So I started with the closest hex color to my new pink hair (F5DFE0) and added that to my header:

Next, I dabbled with 2 warmer shades to create a gradient, adding them to my profile photos:

What now?

Injecting my color palette into everything I touch is still a WIP, but I feel more connected to my own selfies and designs knowing that there is something more tangible linking them together. One big hug of knowledge.

Considering making a color palette of your own?

Here are some tips:

  1. Consider color psychology
  2. Think about the audience or network that you’re trying to attract. What are their values and how can you pick a color(s) that aligns with them?
  3. Use a color wheel to understand how different colors (and shades) can work together. “A sharp contrast between two colors can really make imagery pop, but overusing them can get tiresome.”
  4. Try using a tool like this one from Coolors.co

What do you think?

Does a color palette make you feel more connected to a brand or to a person? What would your colors look like? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

--

--

Claire Kennedy
In The Trenches

Social media, personal branding + social selling | Equal parts Leslie Knope + April Ludgate | #AntiHustleCulture. 💃 claireakennedy.com | @claireakennedy_