RISING ABOVE DESPAIR

Nathaniel Jordan Jr.
In The Vineyard Ministries
1 min readJun 16, 2015

I do a lot of driving in my hometown. The job I do affords me to see a lot of things. Mostly good things I see. But I shouldn’t have to drive to any specific side of the city to see progress, hope and a future. Unfortunately the area where my people live is in despair and disrepair.

Why is it that just about every city’s south side isn’t a place that would give the youthful citizens a glimpse of success? Why is it that when a young person opens their door they are faced with scenes such as this one? How can we expect our children to have hope, a dream and ambition to work for success while this is all they will see?

Fortunately a few can look past this sight and see something better, see a future, see a way out. Some will use this scene as motivation to rise above despair.

--

--

Nathaniel Jordan Jr.
In The Vineyard Ministries

Let your speech always be with grace, seasoned with salt, that you may know how you ought to answer each one. — Colossians 4:6