I Can’t Help It!

I adore books. Actual books. Books you can feel, with pages you turn. And, though most of my own reading material is borrowed from the library, I cannot resist buying new books for our granddaughter.

Randomly Me
In Two Minds
2 min readMay 2, 2016

--

So recently, when I was on Amazon picking out some adorable little toddler- sized sandals, I threw in a book I’ve had on my wish list for her since before she was born. (It would have been a shame to pass up the opportunity to get free shipping on orders of $35 or more.)

Me and My Goose, by Arlo Guthrie.

I love Arlo. He cracks me up. His song, Alice’s Restaurant, is a Thanksgiving tradition, and it still makes me laugh. Every time. So, when I discovered he wrote children’s books, and saw this one had five stars, I thought…

I guess it can wait for a little while, but I am definitely buying this book!

Well, apparently my daughter got the delivery today. She knew about the sandals, but was really excited to see the book (she had actually dragged her reluctant husband to see Arlo a couple years ago), and they sat down, as a family, to read it together.

Sweet, huh?

A little while ago I received the following message (spoiler alert!):

Did you know they ate the goose?!

Uh, no. No, I did not.

And I’ve been giggling, off and on, ever since.

I can’t help it.

I went back to Amazon just now, and there it is, clear as day…

Parental Advisory: Some parents may find this book somewhat disturbing.

Oops!?

It turns out, as they were reading, my daughter remembered the plot from one of the songs he did when they went to see him. It was the story of a “pet” goose he had loved, but suddenly couldn’t find. She had forgotten his poor goose had been cooked (and that she was the one who told me he wrote children’s books in the first place)!

On the upside, she said the pictures were very well done.

And since the baby is only one, she probably won’t be scarred for life.

I will definitely be reading the description more carefully before I buy his book about the moose.

--

--

Randomly Me
In Two Minds

When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be. ~Lao Tzu