In Here

D. L. Shields
In Two Minds
Published in
1 min readMay 3, 2016
© D. L. Shields 2016

There’s too much

noise in here, I need some space

to hear myself think.

There are too many thoughts in here,

I need some room to make my mind blank.

There’s too much space in here, I need the clutter back,

pulled back from the brink.

Discontented, no matter what. I need back memories, those since forgot.

There’s too much stuff

in here,

I need

the void of solace and serenity.

There’s too much junk in here,

the needs and wants stay one step ahead of me.

But, there is a place,

a place in here,

to breathe so clear and restore the discrepancy.

Discontented, no matter what, I need back those memories

I long since forgot.

There’s something alive

in here, a life force waking, within and without.

There’s something moving in here,

a revolution that carries much clout.

There’s something awake

in here,

a consciousness

that circles about bringing

Discontentment, no matter what,

needing a past that’s long since forgot.

--

--