Think “A Beautiful Mind” All The Time

Tre L. Loadholt
In Two Minds
Published in
2 min readMay 1, 2016

An Audio Poem

Secondary Gate. Very Important People Only (NOT).

So, there’s this woman,

RIGHT?

She lets me enter her dreams,

But doesn’t give me access to her heart,

And since she seems to have a gated community

Around it, I am listless without the code.

I only want entry.

In the sooty arena, we may find ourselves,

Both entertained momentarily by

The truths we keep denying.

She refuses to budge.

I am stubborn too, so a good ending,

May not occur.

The mind is a wonderful thing to search.

I often lose myself in its grasp.

How do we manage to walk upright

In such a narrow space?

ASTOUNDING, IS IT NOT?

But, back to my tangent…

I run, run, run to a closed corner,

Because comfort is here

And she won’t see me hiding.

it is the perfect space for damaging

The spirit.

We want minimal clean-up.

The mud of me is a hard thing

To travel.

No one wants to kick their shoes up

In this mess, getting the soles

Covered in crap.

So, they remove them

And walk barefoot in the lines

Of worn limbs.

I ALLOW THEM THIS.

IT FEELS GOOD.

Again, back to my tangent…

I am losing content. I keep wandering.

So, she turns into a statue of vague

Understanding, harnessing good vibes.

I want to nestle in the quality of

Her guidance, willfully losing whatever

Goodness I still have wrapped up in me.

The code.

I need the code.

I only want entry.

I need access.

She denies me still.

Author’s Note: I live in a “Gated Community,” some I allow access, some, I do not. Others have to search for their own entry. I am trying to gain confidence in my voice, so sometimes, I’ll do audio poems. They help.

--

--

Tre L. Loadholt
In Two Minds

I am more than breath & bones. I am nectar in waiting. “You write like a jagged, beautiful dream.” ©Martha Manning •https://acorneredgurl.com