Don't bookmark your life...

Ever notice how you bookmark websites thinking; that’s interesting, that’s important and you'll be back soon…

Tracey Pharoah
In Your Own Words
Published in
2 min readMar 22, 2014

--

Photography is my passion, I love exploring nature and bringing home little hidden treasures to provide a lifetime of memories and ‘stolen moments’…
ARUM by Tracey Pharoah

Six months later, you look at your bookmarks and wonder why you saved them in the first place?

These days the only bookmarks visited with any regularity are probably google, Facebook, twitter, Gmail, your online banking app! … and possibly Medium ;)

So why is it that we feel the necessity to ‘hoard’ information? Especially these days when more and more information is just a search term away?

I recently bought a new computer and was transferring all my data across from the old one and when it came to setting up my browser, I was asked if I wanted to transfer my bookmarks?

Hmmm… An interesting thought, would this ‘feature’ simplify my life… Well, on the face of it, YES! I thought but then I realised that actually I didn’t need those bookmarks anymore. Some went back a few years and some of the sites no longer existed, others had changed in ways that did not inspire or interest me… More than half of them I couldn’t even remember saving and still more were no longer relevant to what I am doing today.

What do you have bookmarked as important in your day?
… What do you have on your ‘To Do’ lists to which the same principle could apply…

What can we ‘delete’ from our busy lives in order to make space for something new…

I was excited at the prospect of having open spaces in my diary, spaces not assigned to anything in particular — just a space to be me… my very own space, my very own ‘To Day List’

It was Time. Time to scrap my bookmarks and throw out the “One-Day-If” and the “One-Day-When” list of bookmarked dreams and aspirations.

When did I stop listening to the music?
Living with passion?
How many times have you said No, when you could have said Yes?
Why not start today?

YES!

--

--

Tracey Pharoah
In Your Own Words

I think I am a thinker… Sometimes it’s words, sometimes it’s pictures, sometimes it’s something far less tangible… www.traceypharoah.com