Knock knock...

Who’s there? Who are you willing to welcome through the doorway and into your life?

Tracey Pharoah
In Your Own Words
Published in
3 min readApr 2, 2014

--

Have you ever drawn people into your life and regretted it later? Everyone will have experienced moments of regret that they walked down a path with a companion, lover, friend or colleague that no longer brought them joy. These days with social media, people can so easily worm their way into your life and at ‘face’(book) value, one is ready to believe that their posts are honest, truthful and that they are genuine human beings with stories to share… But what if they’re not?

Over the years, I have encountered many people from all walks of life and as time goes by and I grow as a person, I realise that not all of them have been welcome visitors. So why are they there in the first place? Is it because you are related to them? Is it because you have to work with them? Is it because they can provide you with a business opportunity or perhaps they have been friends since childhood …

Or is it simply that they were there to help you learn more about yourself and about your relationships with the people around you?

So why are they still there? Do you feel obligated to honour the friendship, business relationship or family connection, no matter what…

I have spent a lot of time thinking about failed relationships in my own life… trying to see where I went wrong, analysing my role in the situation, asking ‘google’ for insights. Sometimes I would blame myself and say, ‘Aaaah that was my mistake...” etc but I have come to realise that saying things like "lessons learned" and "if I had..." and "I was too..." just help to make you feel like a victim and that if you'd acted differently; the outcome would have been different. But I realise that I always give the best of ME to my relationships, I always feel proud of the role I have played in the lives of those who I have touched with briefly... To analyse things and 'take the blame' for a misunderstanding or a parting of ways, allows bullies to persist in abusing the people they engage with... I know that I am not alone in this... It happens all the time, not just to me but others too - in business, in health, in school, in life, politics, sex, love and everything else.

So next time you wonder whether you are to 'blame' because you 'allowed' this to happen... STOP! Walk away from people who suck you dry and re-evaluate WHO you allow to have control over your time and your energy. In the office, in the home, in business, in family, on social media, anywhere you connect with others... WHO you allow into your life and WHO you are willing to take on your life journey with you; even if it's just for a short time.

Namaste…

--

--

Tracey Pharoah
In Your Own Words

I think I am a thinker… Sometimes it’s words, sometimes it’s pictures, sometimes it’s something far less tangible… www.traceypharoah.com