The art of immaculate imperfection

Clay Pot
Clay Pot
Published in
6 min readNov 18, 2018

--

According to Malaysia’s agak-agak style of cooking, all you need to make a culinary masterpiece is one part intuition, one part experience and a generous helping of common sense.

Words By Christine Leong; Art by Javed Imthiaz

I have got to admit something: I have difficulty following recipes. I’d like to say it’s because I avoid certain ingredients (like dairy) due to some health issues, but it’s really because, as a Malaysian, I grew up in a culture that cooked with the agak-agak method. It’s not a method like the art of French cooking is a method. It’s more like an anti-method.

Agak is a Malay word best translated as ‘estimate’. Instead of precise measurement of, say, ingredients and cooking time, the agak-agak style (if one can call it that) is based on guesstimation and to some extent personal preference. That is not to say it’s a hotpot of untested ideas. On the contrary, it’s a conviction of knowledge so ingrained that it becomes almost a natural reflex.

How much water do I need?

“Look at the amount of eggs and agak-agak to achieve the desired texture.”

How long do I cook it for?

Agak-agak 10 to 15 minutes until it is firm, but not hard.”

--

--

Clay Pot
Clay Pot
Editor for

Clay Pot is an independent journal on food and culture from around the world. www.inaclaypot.com