How I designed the AR Camera within a week

Risa Hiyama
Inborn Experience (UX in AR/VR)
3 min readOct 28, 2018

--

magically is an Augmented Reality(AR) Camera app targeting teenagers. Users can plot memories in the form of bubbles and 3D photo frames. It also has a text detection feature that pops out 3D text from the real world.

Who uses magically?

magically is mainly used by Japanese teenagers who love to post creative stories on Instagram.

My Role and Design Process

Since I am the only designer, I was responsible for the design process from user hearing, creating wireframes, building user interface mockups, defining brand identity, and executing initial marketing.

How I came up with the ideas

To first understand what kind of content teenagers are uploading on Instagram, we did extensive research on Instagram. We categorized Instagram posts and according to that, we brainstormed up over 25+ AR filters ideas. We then discussed with engineers to figure out which filters were possible to program.

I came up with 6 brand identity within a day

To come up with a product name, I suggested 4 ideas with the brand messages, mood boards, and logo ideas to support that.

After defining the name I came up with multiple logo ideas.

Then I recruited several teenagers and had them do the Instagram survey and had their friends vote their favorite logo.

This is the finalized Product Identity. I used the sunglasses as a metaphor to show that through lenses users can dive into the magical world.

Side story, I also made some animations to help the user get the hang of AR feature

While doing usability testing, I found out that when users don’t scan the atmosphere properly with their camera the 3D objects show up in a very odd place. Therefore, I created several animations using Lottie.

https://www.lottiefiles.com/search?q=risa+hiyama

--

--