5 Movies That F***ed Up Black People’s Minds

David Saint Vincent
incenDIARY
Published in
12 min readApr 26, 2022

--

Shadow & Act/ Oprah Winfrey and Tyler Perry in full regalia, Harpo, Inc.

Before We Begin

It would be uncool of me if I did not confess up front that this list is not entirely fair.

Making a blunt statement that a movie was responsible for the misplaced focus and misdirected energy of an entire nation of people sounds like barbershop and backyard bar-b-que talk more than a serious analysis from a serious writer. But hang with me and let me plead my case.

But before I do, I need to make clear that each of the movies that made this list do have legitimate artistic value. They were all commercially successful so, if nothing else, they helped make a few Black folks achieve a greater measure of economic security than they otherwise would have and I never discount the value of that reality. But still, each of these films fucked us up more deeply than the filmmakers ever could have imagined when they got the green light to produce these joints. In order of release date rather than lasting damage, here they are:

The Color Purple

The Color Purple, released December 18, 1985.

Of all of the movies on this list, I have no doubt that this one is the most beloved and the most quoted by Black folks all over America. Maybe even the world. I do not believe that I have ever met a sister that has not seen this…

--

--

David Saint Vincent
incenDIARY

5X Top Writer on Race and History. Exploring Truths On Culture, Art & Politics. My opinions are never humble, but I recognize they are still just opinions.