5 Movies That Perfectly Explain Why America Is So F***d Up

David Saint Vincent
incenDIARY
Published in
20 min readJul 2, 2022

--

Daniel Day-Lewis and Leonardo DiCaprio in Gangs of New York, Miramax Films

So you want to know everything that really matters about America, but you don’t feel like sitting through a couple of years of college-level history classes. I get it and I got you covered. Not everybody digs the college scene. Some people just aren’t into the pretense or the formality of it all. Besides, who really wants to carry around a six-figure debt for decades without the guarantee of an even bigger six-figure income to pay it off? The student-debt industrial complex is a bitch, and I applaud anyone who figured out how to educate themselves without falling into that financial abyss. Take my word for it; it ain’t cute when Sallie Mae stops making polite phone calls and starts slapping you around like a pimp who thinks you’re holding out on the cash.

Devinart.com

Even though nobody really wants that debt or that headache, everybody wants to be informed about the country they live in; or at least feel like they know what time it is. And everybody likes movies. Fortunately, there is great conjunction of all these infallible truths, and this is it: I am submitting my selection of 5 Movies That Perfectly Explain Why America Is So Fucked Up to the court of public opinion. I realize I have…

--

--

David Saint Vincent
incenDIARY

5X Top Writer on Race and History. Exploring Truths On Culture, Art & Politics. My opinions are never humble, but I recognize they are still just opinions.