Joining OP Crypto: Mads Pedersen

Inception Capital
Inception Capital
Published in
3 min readMar 30, 2023

I was raised in a world immersed in digital assets — be that from playing Minecraft too late on school nights to looting bases on Clash of Clans to eventually stumbling upon the Silk Road in middle school, introducing me to Bitcoin. At the time, I was too young to comprehend the significance of programmable internet money but when packaged as virtual real estate on Decentraland a few years later, it quickly resonated with me. The ambitious ethos of digital sovereignty coupled with the density of talent and inspiring technology in the space left me with no choice but to dedicate my career to crypto. As crypto continues to develop, my mission is to support the brightest minds in pushing the boundaries of how crypto is weaved into our lives.

I am thrilled to share that I will be joining the OP Crypto investment team to help David, Lucas, and the rest of the team in building crypto’s premier seed-stage venture fund. My adventure with OP Crypto began during my junior year of university when I was introduced to the team and quickly realized that it was the perfect place to kick off my professional career. The multicultural team, with strong connections to both the east and the west, mirrored my own upbringing in both Europe and Asia. This team gave me the ingredients necessary to become a strong investor (network, deeper knowledge, investment ownership) encouraging independence with the necessary guidance to help me perform at my best. It was an easy decision for me to join the team full-time upon graduation.

At OP Crypto, I’ll be collaborating with early-stage founders pushing the envelope during a pivotal moment in the progression of crypto. My aim is to assist entrepreneurs in transforming their concepts into lasting outcomes so if you are considering or currently working on a project, I would love to chat. You can reach me at mads@opcrypto.vc or on Twitter @0xMads.

Thanks to those who’ve been here along the way: David, Lucas for taking a chance on an undergrad excited about internet money; Taran, Alex, Nick, Josh for being my crypto go-tos.

ABOUT OP CRYPTO

OP Crypto is a leading high conviction, early-stage venture capital firm in the crypto and blockchain industry, specializing in pre-seed and seed stage investments. The fund successfully raised $50M in September 2021 and has since invested in over 30 projects, including companies such as Scroll Tech, Snackclub, Merit Circle, Omni, and Fyde.

With the support of prominent investors like Bill Ackman and Alan Howard, as well as institutions like Galaxy Digital, Huobi, and DCG, OP Crypto has access to a global network of venture funds, scouts, and ecosystem partners to source the most competitive deals in the market.

With a core team based in the United States and strong ties to the APAC region, the fund serves as a bridge between East and West. Additionally, a dedicated portfolio team provides post-investment support to founders in areas such as marketing, tokenomics, and networking.

Learn more about OP Crypto at: Website

Follow us on Twitter: OPCryptoVC | OPCryptoDegen

--

--

Inception Capital
Inception Capital

Inception Capital is an early-stage Web3 venture capital firm guiding founders from east and west.