Nightmares

S.F. Kurlek
Incidental Sentiments
1 min readFeb 17, 2021
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

I’m pissed
because I waited
— and you were killing us.
Evil experiments in blue veins
that haunted me for months.

Fall asleep into your eyes,
full of constant piercing dread.
Led to hopeless attempts at rescue
that would end up in my bed.

Tension, chills and sweats
that didn’t belong to me
- refused to leave my head.
An addiction felt, without a thing.

During the day incoherent,
voices couldn’t get through.
Recalling their mouths were moving
but these thoughts
only drifted to you.

Night or day
it’s just a term,
when a clock doesn’t count time.
Seconds or minutes,
the hands don’t tick
if your mind has locked you inside.

Any floor is quite a fine place
when your body lays there useless.
Moving is too difficult, and my voice
-gone. All ability to use it.

So darkness is where I stayed,
safe inside of shadows.
Desperately wondering where you’ve been
or if I’m someone you even remember.

--

--

S.F. Kurlek
Incidental Sentiments

We all have one foot in a fairytale and the other in the abyss. -Coelho